General Theological Seminary celebrates its 201st Commencement

General Theological Seminary
Posted May 18, 2023

The General Theological Seminary (GTS) has held its 201st Commencement, conferring degrees, diplomas and certificates on 22 students.

The Clement Clarke Moore Medal, named after the author of “A Visit from St. Nicholas” and given to a person who has had a significant impact on the Church and the world, was also presented to the Rev. Michael Battle, Ph.D., and the Rev. Julie Faith Parker, Ph.D., in recognition of their scholarship and teaching.

The Commencement 2023 celebrations started with the traditional Baccalaureate Evensong and blessing of the class rings and crosses, followed by a reception and dinner in the Hoffman Refectory, on May 16. The 201st Commencement ceremony took place on May 17, in the Chapel of the Good Shepherd.

The Very Rev. Ian S. Markham, Ph.D., President of GTS, said: “The General Theological Seminary has a history of producing outstanding graduates. We are pleased to celebrate the Class of 2023. The journey has been complex, but the result is good. The Church will be stronger as these gifted graduates go out to serve the Gospel.”

GTS is embarking on an exciting season of renewal following its Affiliation Agreement with Virginia Theological Seminary. The Seminary has drawn up a five-year plan with the three core aims of providing a flagship hybrid MDiv program that responds to the changing needs of the Church, tackling previously deferred campus maintenance, and establishing a new business model to provide long-term financial stability.

Awards and Prizes

The Alumni Prize in Ecclesiastical History
Andrew Kryzak

The American Bible Society Award for excellence in the study of biblical languages
Amanda Henes

The Church and Society Prize for a paper submitted on an aspect of urban life and ministry
Ryan Zavacky

The Winifred H. Clark, Jr., Prize in Anglican Mission and Social Justice
Kirstin Swanson

The George Cabot Ward Prize for the public reading of the Bible
Ann Satterfield and Alexander Cavanaugh

The Edwin Cromey Prize for Excellence in Liturgical Studies
Ryan Zavacky and Amanda Henes

The Martyrs of Memphis Award for Outstanding Service
Mary Russell

The Clement J. Whipple Prize awarded to a student whose work has been accepted for publication
Neal Medlyn

The Bishop of Newark Preaching Prize
Sarah Bonay

The Episcopal Preaching Foundation Award for Preaching, sponsored by The Episcopal Preaching Foundation
Michael Rudzena

The Seymour Prize for extemporaneous preaching
Kristen Ostendorf

The Yoder Scholarship for work that engages the philosophy and reality of love

Bonnie Bivins


Notes to editors:

For media enquiries, please contact:

About GTS:

Founded in 1817, The General Theological Seminary of The Episcopal Church is the oldest seminary of The Episcopal Church. The Seminary was chartered by an act of The Episcopal Church’s General Convention and its name was chosen to reflect its founders’ vision that it be a seminary to serve the whole church.