Bexley Seabury consolidates in Chicago’s Hyde Park/Woodlawn district

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Effective July 25 Bexley Seabury will be the sixth (only Episcopal) seminary in Chicago’s historic Hyde Park/Woodlawn district, located at Chicago Theological Seminary (CTS). The environmentally responsible campus has earned CTS a Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. Photo: Bexley Seabury

The Chicago Theological Seminary campus is environmentally responsible and has earned CTS a Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. Photo: Bexley Seabury

[Bexley Seabury press release] Effective July 25, Bexley Seabury, one of 10 accredited seminaries of the Episcopal Church, will consolidate under one roof at Chicago Theological Seminary, 1407 East 60th Street, Chicago, Illinois, 60637, making it the sixth (only Episcopal) seminary* in Chicago’s historic Hyde Park/Woodlawn district.

The move makes it easier for students of both schools to take advantage of long-standing cross-registration privileges for courses offered by member schools in the Association of Chicago Theological Schools, of which Bexley Seabury and CTS are founding members,** and opens the door to the two seminaries collaborating on new course offerings and other initiatives.

For the first academic term in its new location, fall 2016, Bexley Seabury will offer its Doctor of Ministry degree and Anglican Studies and Lifelong Learning programs. Pending state licensing approval, Bexley Seabury also plans to offer its Master of Divinity degree, like its other programs already accredited by the Association of Theological Schools. Bexley Seabury previously operated from two sites, one elsewhere in Chicago and in Columbus, Ohio.

“We are thrilled to unite our staff, faculty, and students, and to join the vibrant, diverse community of socially responsible disciples that CTS has created,” said Bexley Seabury President Roger Ferlo. “In addition to continuing our tradition of teaching and learning in an ecumenical environment, we welcome the opportunity to contribute to the rich civic and cultural life in Hyde Park/Woodlawn.”

*Hyde Park/Woodlawn is currently home to Catholic Theological Union (affiliated with the Roman Catholic Church), Chicago Theological Seminary (United Church of Christ), Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago (Evangelical Lutheran Church in America), McCormick Theological Seminary (Presbyterian Church USA) and University of Chicago Divinity School (interreligious).

**The Association of Chicago Theological Schools (ACTS) includes Bexley Seabury, Catholic Theological Union, Chicago Theological Seminary, Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary, Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago, McCormick Theological Seminary, Meadville Lombard Theological School, Mundelein Seminary, Northern Seminary, North Park Theological Seminary and Trinity Evangelical Divinity School.