Spokane diocese announces 4 nominees for bishop

Posted Jun 16, 2016

[Episcopal Diocese of Spokane] The Standing Committee of the Episcopal Diocese of Spokane has announced a slate of four nominees to stand for ninth bishop of the diocese.

They are:

  • The Rev. Canon Lucinda Ashby, canon to the ordinary in the Diocese of Idaho;
  • The Rev. Canon Neysa Ellgren Shepley, canon to the ordinary in the Diocese of Oregon;
  • The Ven. Christopher Athan Pappas, archdeacon for congregational development, Anglican Diocese of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada; and
  • The Rev. Canon Gretchen M. Rehberg, rector, Episcopal Church of the Nativity, Lewiston, Idaho, in the Diocese of Spokane.

Further information about the bishop search and the nominees is available here.

The candidates, as well as any additional names received through the nomination by petition process, will be presented to the diocese the week of Sept. 26-30.

The bishop-elect will succeed the Rt. Rev. James E. Waggoner, Jr., who is retiring after serving the diocese as its bishop since 2000.

The election is scheduled to take place Oct. 14-16 during the 52nd Diocesan Convention in Lewiston, Idaho.

The ordination and consecration is set for Saturday, March 18, 2017, in the Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist in Spokane.