Episcopal Diocese of Long Island to invest $90K in reparations at Juneteenth Jubilee

Episcopal Diocese of Long Island
Posted Jun 8, 2023

Bishop Provenzano presents a student with her scholarship at the 2022 Juneteenth Jubilee.

Diocesan Reparations Committee will award scholarships to the descendants of enslaved people in Brooklyn, Queens, and Nassau and Suffolk counties during June 17th “Juneteenth Jubilee” 

Sixteen scholars selected for the Episcopal Diocese of Long Island’s Barbara C. Harris Scholars Program will be presented with their scholarships by the Rt. Rev. Lawrence C. Provenzano, Bishop of Long Island, during a “Juneteenth Jubilee” on June 17 at 1 pm at the Cathedral of the Incarnation in Garden City, NY. The event is open to the public; registration is required. 

Scholarships in the amount of $5,000 will be awarded to sixteen college students demonstrating scholarly achievement and commitment to their communities. All scholars are the descendants of enslaved people who have exhibited exceptional academic excellence and dedicated themselves to creating a more just world through to their communities. 

The 2023 scholars include Alexandra Ebanks of Centerport; Aniya Strong of North Babylon; Ashlee Cox-Pinckney of Huntington; Devyon McDonnough-Canarsie of Brooklyn; Ivie-Ann Mergille of Greenlawn; Jamila Smith of West Hempstead; Jordon Basnight of Westbury; Julivonne Edme of Roosevelt; Kaiyn Ashley of Bushwick, Brooklyn; Kayla Jones of Coram; Kyla Woodroffe of Jamaica, Queens; Nayshawn Ferebee of Copiague; Olivia Colquhoun of Central Islip; Taylor Rae Almonte of Homecrest, Brooklyn; Tenaya Campfield of Roosevelt; and Vanessa Osse of Baldwin. 

This is the second year that scholarships will be awarded through the Barbara C. Harris Scholars Program, established last year by the Reparations Committee of the Diocese of Long Island. Created specifically for Black, African American, or Caribbean American descendants of enslaved people pursuing higher education or vocational training, this program seeks to break down financial barriers that have hindered the educational aspirations of these scholars. 

The selection process was rigorous, with 105 applications received and evaluated through three rounds by the diligent Reparations Committee, led by Penny Allen Grinage. Their vision is to expand and perpetuate this program annually, extending support to even more deserving students who are passionate about furthering their education. 

In addition to recognizing the scholarship recipients, Voorhees University in South Carolina and St. Augustine’s University in North Carolina – two Historically Black Colleges and Universities founded by The Episcopal Church – will also be awarded $5,000 each.