Project Resource Offers Spring 2021 Stewardship Training

College For Bishops
Posted Jan 11, 2021

There has never been a more important time to engage in the ministry of the Stewardship in the Church.

Attached (following) is information about Project Resource, the stewardship formation offering of the College for Bishops. At a time when many of our resources, both denominational ecumenical, in this area are contracting, Project Resource has proven success in being an effective and enduring set of practices for changing the culture of giving in congregations.

Being good stewards of the bounty God has placed in our hands has been our struggle from the earliest days of the church. But if we have learned anything from the past year, it is that we cannot continue to do what we have done before. We must learn contextually appropriate strategies that reflect the diversity of our beloved community. We must learn to do a new thing.

Project Resource is that new thing.

Project Resource is not a curriculum. It is a way of understanding stewardship as a ministry, essential for the spiritual health of individuals and communities. It is a way of learning to be in right relationship to the resources in our hands.

Project Resource teaches us to consider not how to raise money in our congregations, but why the bounty God has given us is not flowing where it needs to and what we can do to remove the barriers that keep it from serving the Kingdom. Stewardship that emerges from a deeper understanding of our own narratives and contexts is by its nature agile and responds to the needs of the community as it changes and grows.

Contextual, nimble, and adaptive ministries are the way forward for our congregations. Project Resource is that ministry in the area of stewardship.

Project Resource has been training ministry teams in The Episcopal Church since 2015 and continues to provide interactive, practice-oriented, research-based formation in the hope that every individual and congregation may both explore its money narratives and, when appropriate, establish healthy new ones.  In doing so, congregations find themselves in right relationship to the bounty of God’s love and free to use that bounty in the service of God’s mission.

An online conference is being held in Spring 2021 for six Sundays (begins two weeks after Easter): April 18, 25, May 2, 9, 16, 23 from 2:00 to 3:30 pm PT / 3:00 to 4:30 pm MT / 4:00 to 5:30 pm CT / 5:00 to 6:30 pm ET.

Now is the time to learn/do a new thing.

For more information and to register, please visit Project-Resource.org/Spring2021.

The College for Bishop’s mission and purpose is to support bishops, and therefore, their dioceses, through personal and professional development, strengthening and empowering their vocation of carrying out God’s mission in the world.