Episcopal delegates named for UN Commission on the Status of Women in March

Episcopal Church Office of Public Affairs
Posted Jan 9, 2020

Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop and Primate Michael Curry has named the Episcopal delegates who will represent him at the 64th Session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (UNCSW) in New York City, NY, March 9-20, 2019.

During this meeting, Episcopal delegates will observe the official UNCSW meetings at United Nations headquarters and will represent the Presiding Bishop of The Episcopal Church. Along with delegates from across the Anglican Communion and the coalition Ecumenical Women, Episcopal delegates will engage in advocacy related to The Episcopal Church’s written statement on the 2020 priority theme, “Review and appraisal of the implementation of the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action.” Learn more here. Each delegate is expected to participate in conference calls prior to the UNCSW meeting as well as evaluations, reports and follow-up actions in their diocese.

The delegates are: Ms. Nancy Stafford, Episcopal Diocese of Rhode Island (Province I); Ms. Yunjeong Seol, Episcopal Diocese of New York (Province II); Ms. Erin Morey, Episcopal Diocese of Pittsburgh (Province III); The Reverend Canon Milly Morrow, Episcopal Diocese of Western North Carolina (Province IV); Ms. Ellen Lindeen, Episcopal Diocese of Chicago (Province V); Ms. Tatiana Hoecker, Episcopal Diocese of West Texas (Province VII); Ms. Maria Gonzalez, Episcopal Diocese of Olympia (Province VIII); and Ms. Pragedes Coromoto Jimenez de Salazar, Episcopal Diocese of Venezuela (Province IX).

Presiding Bishop’s staff members and other leadership team members accompanying the delegation are: Ms. Jennifer Allen, former UNCSW delegate and seminarian; the Rev. Glenda McQueen, staff officer for Latin America and the Caribbean; Ms. Lynnaia Main, Episcopal Church representative to the United Nations; the Rev. Annalise Castro Pasalo, former UNCSW delegate; the Rev. Margaret Rose, Presiding Bishop’s Ecumenical and Interreligious deputy and former director of the Office of Women’s Ministries and Ms. Isabelle Watkins, Julia Chester Emery intern for the United Thank Offering.

In addition, Presiding Bishop Curry named Ms. Clare Hendricks of the Episcopal Diocese of Montana as the Episcopal provincial delegate to the Anglican Communion delegation.

For more information contact Main at lmain@episcopalchurch.org.