Episcopal delegates named for March 2019 United Nations Commission on the Status of Women

Episcopal Church Office of Public Affairs
Posted Dec 20, 2018

Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop and Primate Michael Curry has named the Episcopal delegates to represent him at the 63rd Session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (UNCSW) in New York City, NY, March 11-22, 2019.

During this meeting, Episcopal delegates will observe the official UNCSW meetings at United Nations headquarters and will represent the Presiding Bishop of the Episcopal Church. Along with the delegates from across the Anglican Communion and the group, Ecumenical Women, these Episcopal delegates will engage in advocacy related to the Episcopal Church’s written statement on the 2019 priority theme, “Social protection systems, access to public services and sustainable infrastructure for gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls.”  In addition to this meeting, each delegate is expected to participate in conference calls prior to the UNCSW meeting and evaluations, reports and follow-up actions once back home.

The delegates named by Presiding Bishop Curry are: Charlotte Healy, Diocese of Connecticut (Province I); the Rev. Martha Korienek, Diocese of New York (Province II); Michele Roberts, Diocese of Delaware (Province III); Karen Patterson, Diocese of Southwest Florida (Province IV); Samantha Hynes, Diocese of South Dakota (Province VI); Dana Jean, Diocese of Dallas (Province VII); Dr. Chiseche Mibenge, Diocese of El Camino Real (Province VIII); Luz Maria Lambis Garcés, Diocese of Colombia (Province IX) and Cynthia Wilson d’Alimonte (Convocation of Episcopal Churches in Europe).

Presiding Bishop’s staff members accompanying the delegation are: Lynnaia Main, Episcopal Church Representative to the United Nations; Katelyn Kenney, Julia Chester Emery Intern for the United Thank Offering, and the Rev. Glenda McQueen, Staff Officer for Latin America and the Caribbean.

Presiding Bishop Curry named Jennifer Allen of the Diocese of Kansas as the Episcopal provincial delegate to the Anglican Communion delegation.

For more information contact Main at lmain@episcopalchurch.org.