Applications accepted for grants focused on climate change and creation

Posted Nov 7, 2016

[Episcopal Church Office of Public Affairs press release] Applications are now accepted for grants that focus on local faith-based projects for mitigating climate change and safeguarding the integrity of creation.

The Episcopal Church Advisory Council for the Stewardship of Creation, enabled by Resolution A030 , Create Task Force On Climate Change, approved at General Convention 2015, will make recommendations for grants up to $10,000

Application information is available here. Deadline for applications is Dec. 31.

“At General Convention in 2015, the Episcopal Church allocated funds to enable local faith-based projects for mitigating climate change and safeguarding the integrity of creation,” said the Rev. Stephanie Johnson, council co-chair .

“The purpose of the funds is to support Episcopalians in reconciling with all God’s creation as faithful disciples of Jesus Christ,” added co-chair California Bishop Marc Andrus.

Episcopal Church congregations, seminaries, schools, monastic communities, nonprofits, dioceses, provinces, etc., are encouraged to develop projects that find and establish connections between eco- and social justice; engaging the local community as partners and participants. The projects should seek to foster cooperation between communities of faith, civic, scientific and educational organizations. Projects should have specific outcomes that create a lasting impact, enhance faith formation and social understanding and serve groups and/or regions that are vulnerable and/or underrepresented in the church. Projects including intergenerational engagement, demonstrating innovation and creativity and promoting churchwide learning, understanding, and practical application are welcomed.

The Advisory Council for the Stewardship of Creation will make recommendations to the Episcopal Church Executive Council for its February 2017 meeting, and final grant decisions will be made at that time. The second round of grant opportunities will open in in February 2017.

For further information and details, please contact Chris Sikkema, mission associate for justice and advocacy ministries, at

Members of the Advisory Council for the Stewardship of Creation are:

Bishop Marc Andrus,  Co-Chair, Diocese of California
The Rev. Stephanie Johnson, Co-Chair, Diocese of Connecticut
Paul Anton, Diocese of Minnesota
The Rev. Jerry Cappel, Diocese of Kentucky
The Rev. Patrick Funston, Diocese of Kansas
The Rev. Esther Georges, Diocese of the Virgin Islands
Perry Hodgkins Jones, Diocese of Atlanta
The Rev. Martha Kirkpatrick, Diocese of Delaware
The Rev. Nurya Love Parish, Diocese of Western Michigan
Kelly Phelan, Diocese of Olympia
Peter Sergienko, Diocese of Oregon
Dr. Andrew Thompson, Diocese of East Tennessee
Presiding Bishop Michael Curry, Ex Officio
President of the House of Deputies the Rev. Gay Clark Jennings, Ex Officio
Jayce Hafner, staff liaison