24 United Methodist Church leaders discuss potential split

Market Square Publishing
Posted May 1, 2019

Following the February 2019 session of The United Methodist General Conference, many United Methodists returned to their Sunday School classes, worship services and small groups, asking the same question: “Where do we go from here?”

In Where Do We Go From Here?: Honest Responses From Twenty-Four United Methodist Leaders, four bishops, several pastors, laypersons, campus ministers, students, general board directors and others share their honest responses to the question, “Where do we go from here?”

Voices from the traditional, centrist and progressive viewpoints share their thoughts on where their church is and where it should go from here. Thought-provoking, inspiring and sometimes troubling, this book offers individuals and groups a place to better understand what United Methodist leaders are thinking in this crucial time.

Printing was delayed until after the Judicial Council rulings in late April, giving co-authors the opportunity to update their chapters and respond to the decision.

William B. Lawrence, Perkins School of Theology, Southern Methodist University and Research Fellow, Duke Center for Studies in the Wesleyan Tradition, writes:

“Congratulations on an exceptionally fine piece of work! You have achieved something exceptional in content and speed. The timely publication of the volume could have an impact in annual conferences across the connection.”

Kevin Slimp, publisher at Market Square Books, credits Bishop Kenneth Carder (retired) for his support in connecting with many of the writers so quickly. “Bishop Carder believed in the project from the beginning, and his support can’t be overstated,” said Slimp.

Other bishops involved in Where Do We Go From Here? include president of the Council of Bishops Kenneth H. Carter, Jr. (Florida), Robert Farr (Missouri) and Sharma Lewis (Virginia).

Where Do We Go From Here? will be available at Amazon.com beginning May 3 and through other booksellers shortly thereafter. For more information, visit marketsquarebooks.com.


Jorge Acevedo, Sydney Bertram, Sharon Bowers, Wil Cantrell, Kenneth Carder, Kenneth Carter
Alex da Silva Souto, Talbot Davis, Katie Z. Dawson, Bob Farr, Thomas E. Frank, Erin Hawkins
Donald Haynes, William Lawrence, Sharma D. Lewis, Laquaan Malachi, Douglas Meeks
Rebekah Miles, Chris Ritter, Don Saliers, Kevin Slimp, Amy Valdez Barker, Laceye Warner, J.J. Warren