Diocese of Puerto Rico announces bishop slate

Posted Oct 21, 2016

[Diocese of Puerto Rico] The Search and Nominating Committee for the election of a Bishop for the Episcopal Diocese of Puerto Rico, after deep prayer and discernment in the exercise of its responsibility and in accordance with the criteria established by the Standing Committee, on Sept. 27 announced a slate of four candidates for the position of the eighth bishop of the diocese, succeeding the Rt. Rev. Wilfrido Ramos Orench who has served as provisional bishop since March 2014.

  • Rev. Pres. Carla Roland Guzmán – Diocese of New York
  • Rev. P. César Ramírez Segarra – Diocese of Puerto Rico
  • Rev. P. Rafael Morales Maldonado – Diocese of Puerto Rico
  • Rev. P. Luis Fernando Padilla Morales – Diocese of Puerto Rico

A petition process, during which additional candidates may come forward, ended Oct. 10.

The Election Assembly will be held on Saturday, Dec. 10, 2016, at the Lions Club of Bayamón.