Indianapolis diocese announces 4 nominees for 11th bishop

Posted Jul 11, 2016

[Episcopal Diocese of Indianapolis] The Standing Committee of the Episcopal Diocese of Indianapolis has announced a slate of four nominees to stand for 11th bishop of the diocese.

They are:

  • The Rev. Jennifer Baskerville-Burrows, director of networking, Episcopal Diocese of Chicago;
  • The Rev. Dr. Grace Burton-Edwards, rector, St. Thomas Episcopal Church, Columbus, Georgia;
  • The Rev. Canon Patrick Lance Ousley, priest in charge and headmaster, St. John’s Episcopal Church, Parish & Preschool, Kirkland, Washington; canon for stewardship & development, Diocese of Olympia; and
  • The Rev. Dina van Klaveren, rector, St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church, Glenwood. Maryland.

Further information about the bishop search and the nominees is available here.

The Standing Committee will receive candidates by petition until July 24. The petition process is outlined here.

The candidates, as well as any additional names received through the nomination by petition process, will be presented to the diocese Oct. 13-15.

The election is scheduled to take place Oct. 28 during the 179th Diocesan Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The bishop-elect will succeed the Rt. Rev. Catherine Waynick, who is retiring after serving the diocese as its bishop since 1997.

The ordination and consecration is set for Saturday, Apr. 29, 2017.